DATING YOUR GUILD GUITAR

DATING YOUR GUILD GUITAR

The following series of charts contain the most accurate information Guild has available for discerning the date of manufacture of Guild guitars by serial number. Through the years, (as well as through several different owners of the Guild Guitar company), some historical documentation has unfortunately been lost or destroyed. While there are some holes in the historical record, as well as a few anomalies, inconsistencies, and obvious errors in the dating charts, the information complied and presented here is the most comprehensive data we have available for dating Guild guitars. Please refer to the guides before each chart for information on how to interpret the data.

http://www.adirondackguitar.com/Resources/Guild_dating.htm

40 Responses to “DATING YOUR GUILD GUITAR”

  1. I have a Guild Bluesbird CL002535. I bought it in 2001. Can you tell me if this was made in the Fender Custom shop and what year was it made.
    Thanks for your help.
    Ira

  2. Kenth Rosén Says:

    Hi,
    Could you tell me year and “birthplace” on
    Guild Bluesbird CL001763

  3. Hi Kenth,

    Follow the links to the websites listed and you will most likely find your answer.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  4. what year was the D25M (serIal #115069) Guild guitar made. It is the color of mahogony. Thank you for your response.

  5. I have a guitar that is almost new condition..Model F50 Mnt ..serial #FD100421 . With solid spruce top..can you tell me the age and value…many thanks

  6. Hello Jim, Happy Holidays you will have to follow the links for the info on the age of your Guild.

    As far as its value, it is priceless. By that I mean Guilds are among the very best guitars out there if you are playing in a professional setting and you need an acoustic. Guilds sound great, play great and they are road worthy.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  7. What date is from my Guild Starfire III seriesnumber CP 000164

  8. camille@camillebergman.com Says:

    I have a D50-CE guitar serial number cvp000138. Can you tell me what year it is or where I can look it up to get more information about the guitar. I am trying to sell it.

    Thanks,

  9. Hello Camille,

    Go to the Adirondack Guitar link the info is there. I did’t see any serial numbers starting with cvp so there might be an issue.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  10. Johan Birgersson Says:

    can you tell me when this Bluesbird was made # CL0 ?01446

  11. Johan Birgersson Says:

    # CL 001446 birthdate please

  12. Can you tell me where this Guild guitar was made: JF55-12 / AJ520266

  13. Hi Joel,

    Sadly I am no expert in Guild guitars, though I will say I own a nice one 70s vintage dreadnaught. Anyway my article posted links where you can investigate the origin of your Guild. Guilds are one of the best, very solid for the performing musician.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  14. Anonymous Says:

    Hi, I have a Guild guitar, model: JF4-NT
    serial: CG000356
    I search all over the web even on the Guild site, but i was enable to find info and the year she was built??

    Can someone help me please?

    Thanks in advance 😉

    Daniel

  15. Daniel, if you go to the adirondack guitar site you will find JF4s made between 1990 and 1994 but the serial number doesnt quite match, the range is from CG000746 to CG001572. Maybe it was made a few years earlier or perhaps the 8 has faded to a 3.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  16. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks Bill!

    I presume it must be made a few years before, coz it is really a 3 not an 8 😉

    If according to your research the JF4 were made between 1990 and 1994 with the serial CG000746 to CG001572, could the serial CG00356 be made before 1990? For sure my guitar was made in the Rhode Island plant, they were in R.I. since 1966 i think and it was not until 1995 when Fender bought the company.

    Anyway it was interesting to search a bit on the Guild company, i’ll take for granted that she was made in 1989-90

    Thank Bill to take time to answer .

    Daniel

  17. Hi. I just purchased a used Guild Classical Guitar, Model GAD C3NA. There are two serial numbers on the guitar. One on the inside label, which is GAD 46831. The other is stamped on the wood inside and is 1005030100. I’ve tried to no avail to find out the date and place of it’s manufacture. Can anyone help me determine this information? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. John

  18. I HAVE A GUILD D-55
    SERIAL # AD552031
    CAN ANYONE DATE IT FOR ME???

  19. I have a B4CE (all Mahogany) Model Acoustic Bass, the SN is LD000394; the charts show 1993 B4E going up to LD000271, & 1994 as a different SN system ending @ AB040487?
    Could I assume my Bass is 1993, or early 1994, even though SN don’t match up?

  20. Hi I have guild Serial number AD406253, model DV4. Can you help me find out when it was made? I can’t find it in the charts….

  21. I have a guild d50ce with serial number cvp000475. Can to tell me where and when it was made. Thanks. John

  22. Christina Zaman Says:

    Hi I have a 1994 Guild Acoustic/Electric Guitar and I’m trying to find out information on it such as the model the serial number is AD110362 if someone can please help and also what it might be worth. Thanks Christina

  23. I am trying to date a model: g312nt serial # 187778 Made in USA…closest I come to a near match is 1984. Would love to know value..I’d say ‘excellent’ shape. email me at cmp.glen@gmail.com and I’d be very grateful.

  24. The easiest way to tell is to go outside, hold the guitar to the light so you can clearly make out the writing….are you outside? Okay, now rapidly and repeatedly, in a swinging motion bring the guitar onto your face. Continue this untill….well, just keep going. Now you still don’t know when it was made…i guess. But you sure know when it broke!

  25. I have a G37 blonde ash archback #95085 any ideas on vintage and value , Possibly for sale (going Sailing) must be 40 years old This guitar rings like a bell and knows all the songs, Just hold and strum

  26. Reach me at busboat58@yahoo.com G37 Blonde Ash Archback

  27. I have a Guild 12-string acoustic with model #F 212NT.
    can you help me with the manufacturer date. Is Guild still in business? I need a case for this guitar

  28. I have a Guild 6-string with the number’s D251372, I would like to find out when and where it was made, thank you…

  29. Hello….I have a Guild D4-NT-HR #AD402270.
    None of the dating guides have this specific #.
    There are some that are close. Any ideas?

  30. Hi Tom,

    Thanks for reading my blog. For you and some of the others who have asked similar questions thanks also but I have no further info beyond the links I have given. I am a fellow musician, I have a beloved mid 80s vint Guild dreadnought so i did the research. Hope I could help all of you more.
    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  31. Looking for the origins of a songbird nt serial # KK001491. been after it for a lot of years and am curious.

  32. barefootgeno Says:

    I just bought a guild D4 bk hg. It was made in 1993 and has a stamped date inside the soundhole at the bottom right of the neck.
    june 15 1993.
    was it common for them to stamp them? and were black d4s popular? I havent been able to find a black D4 anywhere on line.
    btw I picked it up for 200 bucks and it is one of those guitars that didnt leave its case much. No pick marks on the pick guard at all.
    plays great and house a big sound. I dont think I can find a better american made classic for 200 bucks!!

  33. Sounds like you got lucky. Enjoy it, I think Guilds are every bit as good as any other high end American acoustics. Like any other they have their own sound and feel.

    This thread gets a lot of hits, maybe another reader can answer your questions.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  34. Hi there

    got a D55 SERIAL NUMBER DE101639

    Any ideas on age?

    cheers

    Gary

  35. Going by the Adirondack website, I would say 1974.

  36. Good Morning

    thank you for your reply but I managed to find it on the Guild site………it seems its a 91-92 westerly 🙂

    regards

    Gary

  37. Well great Gary, I hope you enjoy it Guilds are great guitars.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  38. Anonymous Says:

    I have a guild guitar f45ce-sb with the serial number f450700 can anyone help me with dating this guitar?

  39. what year was the Jf-100c (serIal #AJ100088) Guild guitar made. It is the natural color. Thank you for your response.

  40. Anonymous Says:

    I HAVE MODEL JF 30.12 SERIAL CTT000130 GUILD 12 STRING LOOKING FOR THE YEAR IT WAS MADE THNKS

Leave a comment