Research Proposal to Study Efficacy of Cannabis in PTSD Treatment

via New York Times:

“Now, however, researchers are seeking federal approval for what is believed to be the first study to examine the effects of marijuana on veterans with chronic post-traumatic stress disorder.

The proposal, from the Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies in Santa Cruz, Calif., and a researcher at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, would look at the potential benefits of cannabis by examining 50 combat veterans who suffer from the condition and have not responded to other treatment.”

“One recent Army veteran from Texas who fought in Iraq for 18 months beginning in 2006, said he used marijuana three times a day in lieu of the painkillers and antidepressants he was prescribed after returning home. He asked that his name not be used because Texas does not allow medical marijuana.

The veteran, who said he had been shot in the leg and suffered numerous head injuries from explosions while deployed as a Humvee gunner, said marijuana helped quiet his physical and psychological pain, while not causing the weight loss and sleep deprivation brought on by his prescription medications.

“I have seen it with my own eyes,” he said. “It works for a lot of the guys coming home.””

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/19/us/19pot.html

MAPS:

http://www.maps.org/home/

One Response to “Research Proposal to Study Efficacy of Cannabis in PTSD Treatment”

  1. I’ve been service-connected for PTSD since 1994 and have gone through several VA programs fir it. One of the things I had to do was quit smoking pot to get in the program.
    Because I addmitted that I did they made me go through a drug rehap program for 30 days. The asshats in the program took away all of the meds I was on (one in particular was heavy duty – colonopine – spelled wrong) and I went into withdrawals that still give me nightmares today!
    I went through the PTSD program (Ft.Miley) and as soon as I got out I burned a bowl!
    I can’t begin to tell you what a difference it has made for controlling my chronic back pain and elevating my mood.
    Last year, someone told me they were experimenting with giving PTSD sufferers pot at White Plains VA Hospital in Oregon. I have not been able to verify this however.
    The news your sharing is exciting, but I suspect the powers-that-be in the VA and the asshole Feds will not let it go forward.
    Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

