Tsunami Warning – Magnitude 7.2 – FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS, ALASKA

UPDATE: TSUNAMI WARNING CANCELLED

 

To: U.S. West Coast, Alaska, and British Columbia coastal regions
From: NOAA/NWS/West Coast and Alaska Tsunami Warning Center
Subject: Tsunami Warning Cancellation #3 issued 06/23/2011 at 8:19PM AKDT

The Tsunami Warning is canceled for the coastal areas from Unimak Pass, Alaska (80 miles NE of Dutch Harbor) to Amchitka Pass, Alaska (125 miles W of Adak).

NO destructive tsunami has been recorded, and NO tsunami danger exists along the coasts of the U.S. west coast states, Alaska, and British Columbia. Local authorities can assume all clear upon receipt of this message.

http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/2011/06/24/ln9y44/03/messageln9y44-03.htm


 

To: U.S. West Coast, Alaska, and British Columbia coastal regions
From: NOAA/NWS/West Coast and Alaska Tsunami Warning Center
Subject: Tsunami Warning#2 issued 06/23/2011 at 7:42PM AKDT

http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/2011/06/24/ln9y44/02/messageln9y44-02.htm

The Tsunami Warning continues in effect for the coastal areas of Alaska from Unimak Pass, Alaska (80 miles NE of Dutch Harbor) to Amchitka Pass, Alaska (125 miles W of Adak).

This message is for Information Only for coastal areas of California, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia and Alaska from the California-Mexico border to Unimak Pass, Alaska (80 miles NE of Dutch Harbor).

This message is for Information Only for coastal areas of Alaska from Amchitka Pass, Alaska (125 miles W of Adak) to Attu, Alaska.

A Tsunami Warning means that all coastal residents in the warning area who are near the beach or in low-lying regions should move immediately inland to higher ground and away from all harbors and inlets including those sheltered directly from the sea. Those feeling the earth shake, seeing unusual wave action, or the water level rising or receding may have only a few minutes before the tsunami arrival and should move immediately. Homes and small buildings are not designed to withstand tsunami impacts. Do not stay in these structures.

All residents within the warned area should be alert for instructions broadcast from their local civil authorities. Earthquakes of this magnitude are known to generate tsunamis.

At 7:10 PM Alaskan Daylight Time on June 23, an earthquake with preliminary magnitude 7.3 occurred 20 miles/32 Km southeast of Amukta Pass, Alaska . (Refer to the United States Geological Survey for official earthquake parameters.) Earthquakes of this size are known to generate tsunamis. If a tsunami has been generated, the waves will first reach Adak, Alaska at 8:12 PM AKDT on June 23. Estimated tsunami arrival times and maps along with safety rules and other information can be found on the WCATWC web site.

Tsunamis can be dangerous waves that are not survivable. Wave heights are amplified by irregular shoreline and are difficult to forecast. Tsunamis often appear as a strong surge and may be preceded by a receding water level. Mariners in water deeper than 600 feet should not be affected by a tsunami. Wave heights will increase rapidly as water shallows. Tsunamis are a series of ocean waves which can be dangerous for several hours after the initial wave arrival. DO NOT return to evacuated areas until an all clear is given by local civil authorities.

Pacific coastal regions outside California, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, and Alaska should refer to the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center messages for information on the event.

http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/2011/06/24/ln9y44/02/ttvuln9y44-02.jpg

 

This message will be updated in 30 minutes or sooner if the situation warrants. The tsunami message will remain in effect until further notice. For further information stay tuned to NOAA Weather Radio, your local TV or radio stations, or see the WCATWC web site.

NOTE: THERE IS ONLY A WARNING AT THIS TIME SO THE BELOW ARRIVAL TIMES ARE ESTIMATES IN THE CASE THAT A TSUNAMI WAS GENERATED.

The following list gives estimated times of arrival for

locations along the North American Pacific coast from a

tsunami generated at the given source location. The

list is ordered by arrival time starting with the earliest.

Since tsunami speed is directly related to

water depth, tsunami ETAs can be computed independent of

tsunami amplitude. THE LISTING OF A TSUNAMI ARRIVAL TIME

BELOW DOES NOT INDICATE A WAVE IS IMMINENT. The listed arrival

time is the initial wave arrival. Tsunamis can be dangerous

for many hours after arrival, and the initial wave is not

necessarily the largest.

Source:

Lat: 52.1N

Lng: 171.7W

Mag: 7.3

O-time: 0310UTC

Date: JUN 24

Estimated times of initial tsunami arrival:

DART 46408 1937 AKDT JUN 23 0337 UTC JUN 24

Atka, Alaska 1949 AKDT JUN 23 0349 UTC JUN 24

DART 46413 1949 AKDT JUN 23 0349 UTC JUN 24

DART 46402 1957 AKDT JUN 23 0357 UTC JUN 24

Amchitka Pass, Alaska (125 miles W of Adak) 2004 AKDT JUN 23 0404 UTC JUN 24

Nikolski, Alaska 2005 AKDT JUN 23 0405 UTC JUN 24

Adak, Alaska 2012 AKDT JUN 23 0412 UTC JUN 24

DART 21414 2014 AKDT JUN 23 0414 UTC JUN 24

Amchitka, Alaska 2015 AKDT JUN 23 0415 UTC JUN 24

Dutch Harbor, Alaska 2028 AKDT JUN 23 0428 UTC JUN 24

DART 46403 2031 AKDT JUN 23 0431 UTC JUN 24

Akutan, Alaska 2036 AKDT JUN 23 0436 UTC JUN 24

DART 21415 2041 AKDT JUN 23 0441 UTC JUN 24

Unimak Pass, Alaska (80 miles NE of Dutch Harbo 2047 AKDT JUN 23 0447 UTC JUN 24

Shemya, Alaska 2057 AKDT JUN 23 0457 UTC JUN 24

Attu, Alaska 2103 AKDT JUN 23 0503 UTC JUN 24

St. Paul, Alaska 2104 AKDT JUN 23 0504 UTC JUN 24

DART 46409 2112 AKDT JUN 23 0512 UTC JUN 24

King Cove, Alaska 2114 AKDT JUN 23 0514 UTC JUN 24

Sand Point, Alaska 2116 AKDT JUN 23 0516 UTC JUN 24

Perryville, Alaska 2138 AKDT JUN 23 0538 UTC JUN 24

DART 46410 2138 AKDT JUN 23 0538 UTC JUN 24

Cold Bay, Alaska 2149 AKDT JUN 23 0549 UTC JUN 24

Chignik Bay, Alaska 2209 AKDT JUN 23 0609 UTC JUN 24

Kodiak, Alaska 2210 AKDT JUN 23 0610 UTC JUN 24

Cape Suckling, Alaska (75 miles SE of Cordova) 2211 AKDT JUN 23 0611 UTC JUN 24

Old Harbor, Alaska 2212 AKDT JUN 23 0612 UTC JUN 24

Hinchinbrook Entrance, Alaska (90 miles E of Se 2221 AKDT JUN 23 0621 UTC JUN 24

Seward, Alaska 2235 AKDT JUN 23 0635 UTC JUN 24

Alitak, Alaska 2236 AKDT JUN 23 0636 UTC JUN 24

Elfin Cove, Alaska 2237 AKDT JUN 23 0637 UTC JUN 24

Kennedy Entrance, Alaska (40 miles SW of Homer) 2239 AKDT JUN 23 0639 UTC JUN 24

Yakutat, Alaska 2244 AKDT JUN 23 0644 UTC JUN 24

Salisbury Sound, Alaska (25 miles NW of Sitka) 2245 AKDT JUN 23 0645 UTC JUN 24

Cape Fairweather, Alaska (80 miles SE of Yakuta 2245 AKDT JUN 23 0645 UTC JUN 24

Sitka, Alaska 2245 AKDT JUN 23 0645 UTC JUN 24

Port Alexander, Alaska 2246 AKDT JUN 23 0646 UTC JUN 24

the Alaska/British Columbia border 2350 PDT JUN 23 0650 UTC JUN 24

Langara Island, British Columbia 2354 PDT JUN 23 0654 UTC JUN 24

Valdez, Alaska 2254 AKDT JUN 23 0654 UTC JUN 24

Cordova, Alaska 2304 AKDT JUN 23 0704 UTC JUN 24

Cape Decision, Alaska (85 miles SE of Sitka) 2306 AKDT JUN 23 0706 UTC JUN 24

DART 46419 0019 PDT JUN 24 0719 UTC JUN 24

Homer, Alaska 2328 AKDT JUN 23 0728 UTC JUN 24

Saint Matthew Island, Alaska 2336 AKDT JUN 23 0736 UTC JUN 24

DART 46404 0036 PDT JUN 24 0736 UTC JUN 24

the north tip of Vancouver Island, British Colu 0038 PDT JUN 24 0738 UTC JUN 24

DART 46407 0044 PDT JUN 24 0744 UTC JUN 24

Craig, Alaska 2345 AKDT JUN 23 0745 UTC JUN 24

Ketchikan, Alaska 2352 AKDT JUN 23 0752 UTC JUN 24

Juneau, Alaska 2354 AKDT JUN 23 0754 UTC JUN 24

DART 46411 0108 PDT JUN 24 0808 UTC JUN 24

Tofino, British Columbia 0118 PDT JUN 24 0818 UTC JUN 24

Prince Rupert, British Columbia 0123 PDT JUN 24 0823 UTC JUN 24

the Washington-British Columbia border 0124 PDT JUN 24 0824 UTC JUN 24

Cape Blanco, Oregon 0130 PDT JUN 24 0830 UTC JUN 24

Neah Bay, Washington 0130 PDT JUN 24 0830 UTC JUN 24

La Push, Washington 0131 PDT JUN 24 0831 UTC JUN 24

the Oregon-Washington border 0131 PDT JUN 24 0831 UTC JUN 24

Clatsop Spit, Oregon 0131 PDT JUN 24 0831 UTC JUN 24

Port Moller, Alaska 0033 AKDT JUN 24 0833 UTC JUN 24

Point Grenville, Washington 0133 PDT JUN 24 0833 UTC JUN 24

Charleston, Oregon 0134 PDT JUN 24 0834 UTC JUN 24

Cascade Head, Oregon (70 miles SW of Portland) 0136 PDT JUN 24 0836 UTC JUN 24

Cape Mendocino, California 0136 PDT JUN 24 0836 UTC JUN 24

Douglas/Lane County Line, Oregon (10 miles SW o 0136 PDT JUN 24 0836 UTC JUN 24

Tillamook Bay, Oregon 0137 PDT JUN 24 0837 UTC JUN 24

Horse Mountain, California (50 miles SW of Eure 0139 PDT JUN 24 0839 UTC JUN 24

Fort Bragg, California 0140 PDT JUN 24 0840 UTC JUN 24

Humboldt Bay, California 0141 PDT JUN 24 0841 UTC JUN 24

Crescent City, California 0142 PDT JUN 24 0842 UTC JUN 24

Seaside, Oregon 0143 PDT JUN 24 0843 UTC JUN 24

the Oregon-California border 0143 PDT JUN 24 0843 UTC JUN 24

Westport, Washington 0144 PDT JUN 24 0844 UTC JUN 24

Newport, Oregon 0145 PDT JUN 24 0845 UTC JUN 24

Point Arena, California 0145 PDT JUN 24 0845 UTC JUN 24

Gualala Point, California (80 miles NW of San F 0147 PDT JUN 24 0847 UTC JUN 24

Point Reyes, California 0158 PDT JUN 24 0858 UTC JUN 24

Davenport, California (10 miles NW of Santa Cru 0159 PDT JUN 24 0859 UTC JUN 24

Point Sur, California 0202 PDT JUN 24 0902 UTC JUN 24

Astoria, Oregon 0203 PDT JUN 24 0903 UTC JUN 24

Monterey, California 0204 PDT JUN 24 0904 UTC JUN 24

Port Angeles, Washington 0207 PDT JUN 24 0907 UTC JUN 24

Ragged Point, California (45 miles NW of San Lu 0210 PDT JUN 24 0910 UTC JUN 24

DART 46412 0214 PDT JUN 24 0914 UTC JUN 24

Point Conception, California 0218 PDT JUN 24 0918 UTC JUN 24

Port San Luis, California 0224 PDT JUN 24 0924 UTC JUN 24

Bella Bella, British Columbia 0224 PDT JUN 24 0924 UTC JUN 24

San Francisco, California 0228 PDT JUN 24 0928 UTC JUN 24

Santa Barbara, California 0238 PDT JUN 24 0938 UTC JUN 24

Cape Newenham, Alaska 0140 AKDT JUN 24 0940 UTC JUN 24

Rincon Point, California (15 miles SE of Santa 0249 PDT JUN 24 0949 UTC JUN 24

San Pedro, California 0253 PDT JUN 24 0953 UTC JUN 24

Santa Monica, California 0253 PDT JUN 24 0953 UTC JUN 24

Gambell, Alaska 0153 AKDT JUN 24 0953 UTC JUN 24

Newport Beach, California 0259 PDT JUN 24 0959 UTC JUN 24

La Jolla, California 0303 PDT JUN 24 1003 UTC JUN 24

Seattle, Washington 0303 PDT JUN 24 1003 UTC JUN 24

Alamitos Bay, California (20 miles SE of L.A.) 0308 PDT JUN 24 1008 UTC JUN 24

the California-Mexico border 0309 PDT JUN 24 1009 UTC JUN 24

Hooper Bay, Alaska 0356 AKDT JUN 24 1156 UTC JUN 24

Dillingham, Alaska 0357 AKDT JUN 24 1157 UTC JUN 24

Little Diomede Island, Alaska 0450 AKDT JUN 24 1250 UTC JUN 24

Nome, Alaska 0645 AKDT JUN 24 1445 UTC JUN 24

Unalakleet, Alaska 0936 AKDT JUN 24 1736 UTC JUN 24

http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/2011/06/24/ln9y44/02/webetaln9y44-02.txt

Magnitude 7.2 – FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS, ALASKA

2011 June 24 03:09:40 UTC

Versión en Español

Earthquake Details

  • This event has been reviewed by a seismologist.
Magnitude 7.2
Date-Time
Location 52.008°N, 171.859°W
Depth 62.6 km (38.9 miles)
Region FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS, ALASKA
Distances 64 km (39 miles) SW of Amukta Island, Alaska
103 km (64 miles) SW of Yunaska Island, Alaska
1677 km (1042 miles) WSW of Anchorage, Alaska
2429 km (1509 miles) W of WHITEHORSE, Yukon Territory, Canada
Location Uncertainty horizontal +/- 13.8 km (8.6 miles); depth +/- 5.3 km (3.3 miles)
Parameters NST=784, Nph=791, Dmin=231.5 km, Rmss=1 sec, Gp= 29°,
M-type=teleseismic moment magnitude (Mw), Version=A
Source
  • USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)
Event ID usc0004f5m

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsww/Quakes/usc0004f5m.php

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: