This Idea is Just Bananas!

quoted from gardensecure.com (link below):

“Don’t ask me for links because I don’t have any, but in my time here I have read that MJ plants’ sex is not determined until the plant is 3 to 4 weeks old. I have also read that ethylene gas influences plants to be female. That’s all plants, not just MJ.

All ripening fruit gives off ethylene gas and bananas and apples are supposed to be high in ethylene gas as they ripen. I prefer bananas.

So – as many of you have seen – I put a banana at the base of a plant I want to be female. I put it there when the plant is 3 weeks old & keep one there for two weeks. I’ll keep one there until it turns black – I don’t want bugs – then I put a new one down if needed. I’ve had success with 4 plants (out of 4) that I have tried putting a banana under. Another member of GC is 2 for 2 and now I have a banana under my current plant.”

There are 4 groups of PGR compounds: these are Auxin, Gibberellins (GA), Cytokinin and Ethylene. While auxins, gibberellins and cytokinins are considered to be growth promoters. Ethylene is a gas which can cause leaf abscission and ripening of certain types of fruit, however when applied at the correct concentration as Ethrel (foliar spray) it has been used to induce femaleness in flowers of cucumber and other dioecious plants.

http://www.gardenscure.com/420/theories-speculation/108407-banana-religion.html

4 Responses to “This Idea is Just Bananas!”

  1. Okay, this is a new one.

    A plus would be that banana bread could be made frequently.

  2. The comment thread on the website is 53 pages long LOL.

    have a peaceful day,
    Bill

  3. I can’t think straight right now, but I think I agree!

  4. if you smoke the peel you’ll get stoned

Leave a Reply

