Linda Atkins: “Inspired by Obama”

“I was inspired by Obama back in January to get back into political action after 25 years of disappointment and discouragement about our political process. As a young person, I believed that we could change our world with traditional political involvement. I volunteered for McCarthy before I was old enough to vote. Then, the era of Reagan thru Bush2 discouraged my exuberance. I heard the 2004 speech by Obama and as my goosebumps were raised I thought there might be hope for us again.”

“We won the nomination and I felt like it was time to get involved at the local level and try to spread the Change all through our governments. In Eureka, we had no one to challange the conservative candidate for my City Council seat, so I have decided to join a progressive coalition to make a run at getting a majority on the Council. As we take back our country, it’s all possible.”

http://my.barackobama.com/page/community/blog/lindaatkins

Leave a comment